h1

sundown

June 3, 2009

Photo0056

After 1 whole day of eating bananas, it was Race Day. Damn I still think I look gay in their event tee.

Flagged off at 23.59 from Nicoll Drive, we decided to start from the back because this is our virgin marathon so as to let the better runners start off first, after bout 5 mins of walking from the back to the start line and upon hearing the beep sound (meaning the sensor started clocking our timings) we started our long and winding 42km run.

Riduan broke away from us within like the first kilometer of the run to enjoy his breeze and his music behind and left the 3 of us running together pacing each other not long after that we ran our own individual pace.

Skip the first water point because it’s simply too crowded and went on to the 2nd one and FWAH the crowd is even bigger. Saw Mr Ng (marathon guru), my DnT workshop tech and manage follow his pace from Changi Airport all the way till East Coast Service Road. Stop at the 6th drink station (14km) to adjust my shoe and give my ankle a massage cause I’m feeling the ache already continue to push myself further all the way till the 21km mark and saw that freaking bridge that we have to cross, that’s when I started my run and walk journey. The U turn at Big Splash was the most demoralising one. You’re running towards the U turn and people ran pass your opposite direction cause they have finished. Of course many cheated by crossing over the opposite direction but all 4 of us thought there’s a check point at the U turn so we didn’t cheat =.=

Somewhere along the 25km mark I start to feel hungry and I didn’t bring my PowerBar and the PowerBar at those drinks station were all snapped up! You only see empty paper cups, banana skins and packaging wrap all around the side of the running path. Ran around Bedok Reservoir (another mind challenge route) and then I started to pace with different random people, I overtook them they overtook me, enjoy the breeze, enjoy the scenery and finally I see Hendon Camp! 2km more to finishing line! Start to pick up my pace and there were random cheerleaders from some running club =.= and at this point my ankle is hurtly badly already but I don’t know why I started sprinting back to the finishing line but yeah I did.

Oh! I saw someone popped his knee! Not exactly I can do anything to help him but yeah, my knee feels very loose and needed some screwing up. Didn’t manage to finish within my 6 hours target but heck. At least I didn’t hop on to a cab and cab it to the finishing line 😀

2 comments

  1. My brother is a finisher of sundown. So cool ah loghead.


    • better than someone. say say but nvr go =)



Leave a comment